Workers’ Rights Boards

2019 St. Louis Workers’ Rights Board Meeting

Thursday, September 26th
Greater St. Mark Family Church
9950 Glen Owen Dr, St. Louis, MO 63136
North of W. Florissant in Ferguson, MO


8:00 am Breakfast & Annual St. Louis Workers’ Rights Board Meeting
9:00 am Keynote by Richard Rothstein, author of The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America
Books will be available for sale & signing through Left Bank Books.

​We will learn about the history of legalized housing segregation and what we can do about housing and wealth inequity five years after the Ferguson Uprising.

Sponsored By:

Missouri Jobs with Justice, Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis’ Peace & Justice Commission, Forward Through Ferguson, Gladiator Consulting, Women’s Voices Raised for Social Justice, Deaconess Anne House: Episcopal Service Corps of St. Louis, WEPOWER, the St. Louis Labor Council, Service Employees International Union Local 1, National Council of Jewish Women – St. Louis, Christ Church Cathedral (Episcopal), Empower Missouri, Organization for Black Struggle & Faith & For the Sake of All


In addition to building alliances between labor and community groups, Jobs with Justice built a new structure – Workers’ Rights Boards – to combat the lack of an adequate legal framework to support worker and economic justice issues. We have a proven track record that these locally-based institutions made up of community leaders, religious leaders, academics, elected officials, and other prominent members of the community, can be effective vehicles to address workers’ and community concerns.

Where the withered legal framework is slow to move, the Boards can spur important action. The St. Louis Workers’ Rights Board has taken steps to protect workers threatened with firing for organizing, caregivers dismissed for reporting patient abuse, and immigrant workers denied pay for hours work simply because the employer thought they could get away with it.

Community leaders who agree to serve on a WRB review worker complaints and often conduct public hearings – giving employers the chance to participate – and then seek follow-up meetings with management to report their findings and, if possible, resolve the dispute. In addition to these types of cases, JwJ WRB’s have intervened most frequently in organizing situations where workers’ rights violations are blatant and serious. WRB proceedings are part of a one-two counterpunch that includes direct action by labor, community and faith-based activists.

Workers’ Rights Board

Kansas City Co-Chairs:

Dr. Bob Minor
The Rev. Dr. Donna Simon

Kansas City Steering Committee

The Rev. Lloyd Fields
Professor Ile Haggins
Patricia A. Jones
Alice Kitchen
Deacon Michael Lewis
The Rev. Dr. R. Stan Runnels
Fred Wickham

Kansas City Members:

Rabbi Doug Alpert
Laura Alvarez
Judy Ancel
The Rev. Rick Behrens
The Rev. Ron Bowen
John Boyd
The Rev. Dr. Ron Brooks
Deacon A.J. Byrd
Sherwin Carroll
Gina Chiala
Rev. Dave Culver
Lewis Diuguid
Mark Dugan
Dr. Peter Eaton
Margaretha Finefrock
Theresa Garza
Beau Heyen
The Rev. Dr. Vernon Howard
Maime Hughes
Jude Huntz
The Rev. Ed Kail
Edward Emmett Keenan
Kathleen Kennedy
John Kurtz
Doug Langer
The Rev. Susan McCann
The Rev. Donna McDaniel
The Rev. Holly McKissick
Bette Tate Miller
Representative Judy Morgan
Brian Noland
Mary O’Halloran
Jessica Piedra
Juan Rangel
The Rev. Kenneth Ray
Raymond Rico
Brother Louis Rodeman
Rev. Kris Ross
The Rev. Dr. Tex Sample
Heather Schlozman
The Rev. Sarah Schofeld-Wimberley
The Rev. Ted Schroeder
The Hon. John Sharp
The Rev. Jennifer Thomas
The Rev. Stevie Wakes
Dr. Charles Wheeler
Angie Williams
The Rev. Dr. Rodney Williams

St. Louis Co-Chairs:

Ruth Ehresman
The Rev. Tommie Pierson, Sr.

St. Louis Steering Committee:

Chief Sherman George
Don Giljum
Lara Granich
Percy Green
Jerry Hochzstein
The Rev. W. Audrey Hollis
Cynthia Holmes
Denise Lieberman
Dr. Allan MacNeill
The Rev. Dr. Rudy Pulido
The Rev. Dr. Martin Rafanan
The Rev. Sherrie Saunders
Ben Senturia
Elder C. Jessel Strong
Joan Suarez

St. Louis Members:

Pastor Mary Albert
Dr. James Allen, Jr.
Ellen Alper
The Rev. Dr. Heather Arovitch
Karen Aroesty
The Rev. Emmett Baker
Laura Barrett
Paul Beins
Rabbi James Bennett
Jennifer Bersdale
Joan Beuckman
The Rev. Dr. Ronald Bobo
Representative John Bowman
Rodney Bozeman
Senator Joan Bray
The Rev. Charles Brown
Deborah Burris
The Rev. Rodrick Burton
The Honorable William Clay, Snr.
Congressman Wm. Lacy Clay, Jr.
Rev. Tyler Connoley
Mo Costello
Fr. Richard Creason
Phillip Deitch
Rv. Jackob Denap
Senator Pat Dougherty
Jim Faul
Jon Federson
Rabbi Randy Fleisher
Allen Fluent
The Rev. Robert Franklin, Jr.
Bukky Gbadegesin
The Rev. David Gerth
Anna Ginsburg
Rabbi Andrea Goldstein
Rabbi James Goodman
Lara Granich
Reena Hajat
Imam Muhamed Hasic
Ann Harubrich
Bernie Hayes
Dr. Dan Hellinger
Dr. Deborah Henry
Rich Howard-Willms
Clarence Jackson
Sr. Barbara Jennings
The Rev. Dr. Sammie Jones
Jerry King
Glenn Koenen
Evan Krauss
Sr. Mary Ann McGivern
Representative Margo McNeil
Miriam Mahan
Dr. Michael Mancini
Larry Mass
Tom Mendelson
The Rev. Mark Miller
Mark Morland
Jeanette Mott Oxford
Lew Moye
Friar Ed Mundwiller
Bishop Howard Nelson
Virginia Nesmith
Tom Nolan
Angie O’Gorman
Bill Quick
The Rev. Rebecca Ragland
Dr. Mark Rank
Dr. Gerda Ray
Bob Reinhold
The Rev. B.T. Rice
Fr. Steve Robeson
Jamala Rogers
Dr. Rebecca Rogers
Dr. Jake Rosenfeld
Fr. Jack Schuler
Mary Ann Sedey
Roz Sherman-Voelllinger
Dr. John Slosar
Les Sterman
Rev. Carleton Stock
Fr. Jonathan Stratton
Sr. Carla Mae Streeter
Dr. Abbe Sudvarg
Doug Swanson
Robert Swearingen
Rabbi Susan Talve
Natalie Teague
Gail Wechsler
Nikki Weinstein
Roseann Weiss
Dr. Robert Wilcox
The Rev. Starsky Wilson