» Workers Rights Board

St. Louis and Kansas City Workers’ Rights Boards

In addition to building alliances between labor and community groups, Jobs with Justice built a new structure – Workers’ Rights Boards – to combat the lack of an adequate legal framework to support worker and economic justice issues . With Boards in 20 cities we now have a proven track record that these locally based institutions made up of community leaders, religious leaders, academics, elected officials, and other prominent members of the community, are effective vehicles to address workers’ and community concerns.

Although the Boards have no legal authority, the Boards can produce real results. Where the withered legal framework is slow to move the Boards spur important action. The St. Louis Workers’ Rights Board has protected workers threatened with firing for organizing, caregivers dismissed for reporting patient abuse, and immigrant workers denied pay for hours work simply because the employer thought they could get away with it. In 2011, the Kansas City Workers’ Rights Board convened for the first time, ready to be a moral voice for workers in the community.

Workers’ Rights Boards proceedings are part of a one-two counterpunch that includes direct action by labor, community and faith-based activists.

Morris cropped

St. Louis Workers’ Rights Board


The Rev. Dr. Martin Rafanan, Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Joan Suarez, Missouri Immigrant and Refugee Advocates


Steering Committee

Joan Beuckman, KMOX, KTRS retired

Joan Bray, Consumer Council of Missouri

Ruth Ehresman, Women’s Voices Raised for Social Justice

Sherman George, St. Louis Fire Chief, retired

Don Giljum, University of Missouri

Percy Green, ACTION Reunion

Jerry Hochsztein, Jews United for Justice

Cynthia Holmes, Attorney

Denise Lieberman, Advancement Project, Attorney

Professor Allan MacNeill, Webster University

Angie O’Gorman, Author

The Rev. Dr. Rudy Pulido, Baptist General Convention of Missouri

Professor Mark Rank, Washington University

Ben Senturia,  Leadership for Social Change



General Members

The Rev. Mary Albert, Epiphany UCC

Professor James Allen Jr., Saint Louis University

Laura Barrett, Gamaliel Foundation

John Bowman Sr., Coalition of Black Trade Unionists

Pastor Mark Bradshaw Miller,  Westminster Presbyterian Church

Deborah Burris, University of Missouri – St. Louis

The Rev. Charles Brown, Mt Airy MB Church

The Honorable William Clay, US Congress, former

Mo Costello, MoKabe’s Coffeehouse

Fr. Richard Creason, Most Holy Trinity Catholic Church

Anna Crosslin, International Institute of Metro St. Louis

The Rev. Teresa Danieley, St. John’s Episcopal Church

Pat Dougherty, Catholic Charities of St. Louis

Hedy Epstein

Jim Faul, Attorney

Rabbi Randy Fleisher, Central Reform Congregation

The Rev. Robert Franklin, Rainbow/Push Coalition

The Rev. David Gerth, Metropolitan Congregations United

Rabbi Andrea Goldstein, Congregation Shaare Emeth

Seifu Gudeta

Reena Hajat, Diversity Awareness Partnership

Imam Muhamed Hasic, Islamic Community Center

Ann Haubrich, Prison Performing Arts

Bernie Hayes, Independent Television Services

Dan Hellinger, Webster University, HIPSL

Dr. Deborah Henry, St. Louis Community College

Rich Howard-Willms, Plowsharing Crafts

Clarence Jackson, Ecumenical Leadership Council of Missouri

The Rev. Dr. Sammie Jones, Mt Zion Missionary Baptist Church

Jerry King, RJK, Inc

Glenn Koenen, Circle of Concern, retired

Miriam Mahan, Saints Joachim & Ann Care Center

Professor Michael Mancini, Saint Louis University

Larry Mass, Attorney

Pastor Frederick McCullough, Wayman AME Church

Sr. Mary Ann McGivern, Sisters of Loretto

Representative Margo McNeil, Missouri House of Representatives

Jeanette Mott Oxford, Missouri Association for Social Welfare

Friar Ed Mundwiller, St. Anthony of Padua

Bishop Howard Nelson

Virginia Nesmith, National Farm Worker Ministry, retired

Pastor Tommie Pierson Sr., Greater St. Mark Family Church

Bill Quick, Attorney

Professor Gerda Ray, University of Missouri- St. Louis

Bob Reinhold, Attorney

The Rev. Larry Rice, New Life Evangelical Center

The Rev. B.T. Rice, New Horizon 7th Day Christian Church

Jamala Rogers, Organization for Black Struggle

Professor Rebecca Rogers, University of Missouri – St. Louis

Robert Russell, University of Missouri – St. Louis

Fr. Jack Schuler, St. Ferdinand Catholic Parish

Mary Ann Sedey,  Attorney

John Slosar, Saint Louis University

Dr. Carla Streeter, Aquinas Institute

Dr. Abbe Sudvarg, MD

Rob Swearingen, Legal Services of Eastern Missouri

Rabbi Susan Talve, Central Reform Congregation

Roz Voellinger, United Way of Greater St. Louis

The Rev. Emery Washington, The Episcopal Church of the Holy Communion

Nikki Weinstein, Leadership for Social Change

Roseann Weiss, Regional Arts Commission

Agnes Wilcox, Prison Performing Arts

Bob Wilcox, Art Critic



Kansas City Workers’ Rights Board

General Members

Rabbit Doug Albert, Congregation Kol Ami

Laura Alvarez, Guadalupe Centers, Inc.

Judy Ancel, University of Missouri – Kansas City

The Rev. Rick Behrens, Grandview Park Presbyterian Church

John Boyd, Attorney

The Rev. Ron Brooks, Grand Avenue Temple UMC

Sherwin Carroll, SEIU Local 1, Retired

Mark Dugan, Attorney

Peter Eaton, University of Missouri – Kansas City

Ahmed El-Sherif, Let the Children Play

Maggie Finefrock, The Learning Project

Theresa Garza-Ruiz, Jackson County Legislator

Mamie Hughes, Civil Rights Activist, Retired

Edward Emmett Keenan, Attorney

Kathleen Kennedy, Bishop Sullivan Center

Alice Kitchen, Sisters of Loretto

John Kurtz, Attorney

Deacon Mike Lewis, St. Patrick Parish

The Rev. Susan McCann, Grace Episcopal Church

Sr. Barbara McCracken, Keeler Women’s Center

Dr. Bob Minor, The Fairness Project

Judy Morgan, Missouri House of Representatives

Mary O’Halloran, O’Halloran Communication

Juan Rangel, Metropolitan Community College (Donnelly College?)

The Rev. Kenneth Ray, Baptist Ministers Union

Pete Raya, IBEW Local 124

Raymond Rico, Attorney

Brother Louis Rodeman, Holy Family Faith Community, Retired

Tex Sample, St. Paul School of Theology

Heather Schlozman, Attorney

The Rev. Ted Schroeder, Missouri Association for Social Welfare

The Rev. Donna Simon, St. Mark’s Hope and Peace

The Rev. Jennifer Thomas, Immanuel Lutheran Church

Marti Trummer, Greater Kansas City Women’s Political Caucus

The Rev. Stevie Wakes, Communities Creating Opportunity

Dr. Charles Wheeler, Mayor of Kansas City, Former

Fred Wickham, Attorney

Angie Williams, Attorney